July 7, 2009

The Honorable Nydia Velázquez Chairwoman Small Business Committee United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

VIA FACSIMILE TO: (202) 226-0327

The Honorable Bart Gordon Chair Committee on Science and Technology United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 VIA FACSIMILE TO: (202) 225-6887 The Honorable Sam Graves
Ranking Member
Small Business Committee
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
VIA FACSIMILE TO: (202) 225-8221

The Honorable Ralph M. Hall Ranking Member Committee on Science and Technology United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 VIA FACSIMILE TO: (202) 225-3332

Re: H.R. 2965, the Enhancing Small Business Research and Innovation Act of 2009

Dear Chairwoman Velázquez, Chairman Gordon, Ranking Member Graves and Ranking Member Hall,

The undersigned, patient advocacy organizations, scientific and professional societies, higher education associations, and research institutions, write to express our support for your efforts to reauthorize the Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) at its current allocation level. We stand together in opposition to a provision in the Senate SBIR/STTR Reauthorization Act of 2009 (S.1233) that would increase the allocation for the Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) program from 2.5% to 3.5% of any federal agency budget that provides more than \$100 million for research. As the legislative process moves forward, we urge the adoption of the House version of this legislation for the reasons described below.

We recognize the benefits of the participation of small businesses in scientific research. Unfortunately, the Senate has proposed a mandatory increase in the SBIR allocation across agencies that will necessarily result in funding cuts for the peer-reviewed research conducted by other organizations. This fundamental research creates the discoveries that fuel innovation, improve quality of life and contribute to our country's economic growth. Indeed, the increase in the SBIR allocation proposed in S. 1233 would restrict competition for \$1 billion in federal research dollars, during a time when future funding levels are uncertain. Rather than increasing support for one type of research at the expense of all others, we urge Congress to work with the Obama Administration to increase funding for all research, thereby increasing the total investment in SBIR.

We applaud your hard work on this complex issue, and stand ready to work with you to pass the *Enhancing Small Business Research and Innovation Act of 2009* (H.R. 2965).

Sincerely,

Ad Hoc Group for Medical Research

American Association for Dental Research (IADR)

American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)

American Association of Anatomists (AAA)

American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN)

American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM)

American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP)

American College of Radiology (ACR)

American Educational Research Association (AERA)

American Gastroenterological Association (AGA)

American Liver Foundation (ALF)

American Mathematical Society (AMS)

American Psychological Association (APA)

American Society for Biochemistry & Molecular Biology (ASBMB)

American Society for Investigative Pathology (ASIP)

American Society for Nutrition (ASN)

American Society for Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics (ASPET)

American Society of Nephrology (ASN)

American Statistical Association (ASA)

Arizona State University

Association for Psychological Science (APS)

Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO)

Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC)

Association of American Universities (AAU)

Association of Independent Research Institutes (AIRI)

Association of Population Centers (APC)

Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (A · P · L · U)

Association of Schools of Public Health (ASPH)

Biophysical Society (BPS)

Boston University School of Medicine

California Institute of Technology

Case Western Reserve University

Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

Coalition for the Advancement of Health Through Behavioral and Social Sciences

Research (CAHT-BSSR)

Coalition for the Life Sciences (CLS)

Coalition to Protect Research (CPR)

Columbia University

Computing Research Association (CRA)

Consortium of Social Science Associations (COSSA)

Consortium of Universities for the Advancement of Hydrologic Science, Inc. (CUAHSI)

Council of Energy Research and Education Leaders (CEREL)

Council of Environmental Deans and Directors

Duke University

Energy Sciences Coalition (ESC)

Environmental Mutagen Society (EMS)

Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology (FASEB)

Federation of Behavioral, Psychological, and Cognitive Sciences (FBPCS)

Harvard University

Indiana University

Institute for the Advancement of Social Work Research (IASWR)

Ktech Corporation

Michigan State University

National Alliance for Eye and Vision Research (NAEVR)

National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI)

National Caucus of Basic Biomedical Science Chairs (NCBBSC)

National Council for Science and the Environment (NCSE)

National Health Council

National Multiple Sclerosis Society

New York-Presbyterian Hospital

North Carolina State University

NYU Langone Medical Center

Ornithological Council

Population Association of America (PAA)

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Small Business California

Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM)

Society for Neuroscience (SfN)

Society for Research in Child Development (SRCD)

Society for the Study of Reproduction (SSR)

Stanford University

SUNY Upstate Medical University

Syracuse University

The American Association of Immunologists (AAI)

The American Brain Coalition (ABC)

The American Physiological Society (APS)

The American Society for Cell Biology (ASCB)

The American Society of Human Genetics (ASHG)

The Council on Undergraduate Research (CUR)

The Endocrine Society

The Ohio State University

The Teratology Society

Tulane University

University of Cincinnati

University of Maryland

University of Maryland School of Medicine

University of Miami

University of Minnesota Medical School

University of Rochester

University of Southern California

University of Texas Health Science Center

University of Vermont

University of Virginia
University of Washington
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Vanderbilt University
Washington University in St. Louis
Weill Cornell Medical College
Yale University School of Medicine

Contact: Kimberly McGuire, FASEB, kmcguire@faseb.org, 301-801-2126 Page 4 of 4