June 3, 2008

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the House H-232, the Capitol Washington, DC 20515

Facsimile: 1-202-225-4188

The Honorable John Boehner House Republican Leader H-204, the Capitol Washington, DC 20515 Facsimile: 1-202-225-0704

Dear Speaker Pelosi and Minority Leader Boehner:

As the House and Senate move toward an agreement on the supplemental spending bill, we strongly urge you to preserve the funding increases for the physical sciences and engineering included in the Senate-passed legislation. The \$200 million appropriated to the National Science Foundation and the \$100 million for the Office of Science in the Department of Energy represent the bare minimum Congress should provide for basic research and math and science education at a time when America's economic competitiveness is increasingly challenged.

The FY 2008 Omnibus Appropriations Act came up woefully short of the funding commitments made by Congress and the Administration in the Democratic Innovation Agenda and the American Competitiveness Initiative. The consequences of this inaction are now apparent: cutting edge research has been halted or not launched; scientists in the hundreds have lost their jobs; fewer teachers are being trained; bright students are choosing alternative paths; and international partnerships have been severed. Basic science and engineering research at universities and national labs drives our nation's ability to develop breakthroughs ranging from energy- and life-saving devices to technologies that contribute to our economic growth, national defense and societal welfare. Now is the time to invest in America's competitive future and prevent further backsliding.

America's business, scientific and academic communities are united in asking for your leadership to preserve this funding in the FY 2008 supplemental and to put America back on track in FY 2009 to secure our crucial innovation investment commitments. We appreciate your continued efforts and look forward to working with you throughout this process.

Sincerely,

Choronaus

Hector Ruiz Chairman & CEO

Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.

Bruce E. Bursten President

American Chemical Society

Christopher Hansen President & CEO

American Electronics Association

Dr. John Watson

President

American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering

no Thomas Wason

H. Frederick Dylla

Executive Director and CEO

L.F. Dylla

American Institute of Physics

James Glimm

President

American Mathematical Society

Peter A. Lachenbruch

President

American Statistical Association

Fachenbruch

Syl

Sanjay Jha President

QUALCOMM CDMA Technologies

Bill Destler President

Rochester Institute of Technology

Victoria Hadfield

President SEMI North America

Sergy M. Scalin George Scalise President

Semiconductor Industry Association

Larry W. Sumney President & CEO

Semiconductor Research Corporation

Cleve Moler President

Society for Industrial and Applied

Mathematics

Jerry P. Draayer President & CEO

Southeastern Universities Research

Association

Michael Crew

Michael M. Crow President

Arizona State University

Pohn Am Berdalel

Robert M. Berdahl

President

Association of American Universities

Dr. Mary L. Good

Chairman

ASTRA, The Alliance for Science & Technology

Research in America

Dr. Jay Gogue President

Auburn University

Daniel A. Reed

Chairman

Computing Research Association

David Skorton President

Cornell University

Deborah L. Wince-Smith

President

Council on Competitiveness

Mark S. Thompson

Chairman, CEO & President

Fairchild Semiconductor

John Cuterroom

John Hennessy

President

Stanford University

many Comto

Nancy Cantor Chancellor & President Syracuse University

Fregler g. Westine

Lezlee Westine President & CEO

TechNet

Richard K. Templeton Chairman, President & CEO

Texas Instruments Incorporated

Dwayne Ashley CEO & President

Thurgood Marshall College Fund

Scott S. Cowen President

Tulane University

John B. Simpson

President

University of Buffalo, The State University of New York

Larry N. Vanderhoef

Chancellor

University of California Davis

James H. ammons

Dr. James H. Ammons

President

Florida A&M University

T.K. Wetherell

President

Florida State University

Rich Beyer Chairman & CEO

Freescale Semiconductor, Inc.

John Exely III

Dr. John E. Kelly III

Senior Vice President & Director of Research

IBM Corporation

Russell J. Lefevre

President

IEEE-USA

Michael McRobbie

President

Indiana University

URB acy

Dr. Craig R. Barrett Chairman of the Board

Intel Corporation

Gregory L. Geoffroy

President

Iowa State University

Michael Mond

Michael V. Drake

Chancellor

University of California Irvine

Robert Grey Chancellor

University of California Riverside

John Hitt President

University of Central Florida

Nancy Zimpher President

University of Cincinnati

Dr. Eric Gislason

Chancellor

University of Illinois at Chicago

Richard Herman

Chancellor

University of Illinois of Urbana-Champaign

Dr. C. Dan Mote

President

University of Maryland

Assalwel

Abhi Talwalkar President & CEO

LSI Logic Corporation

Keith Jackson

President, CEO & Director

ON Semiconductor

Susan Hockfield

President

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Lusan Ho cofied

Cynthia A. Volkert, Ph.D.

President

Materials Research Society

Lou Anna K. Simon

President

Michigan State University

Steve Appleton Chairman & CEO

Micron Technology

Peter McPherson

President

NASULGC, A Public University Association

Mary Sue Cleman

Mary Sue Coleman

President

University of Michigan

Robert H. Bruininks

President

University of Minnesota

James 13 Wille

James B. Milliken

President

University of Nebraska

David Schmidly President

University of New Mexico

(decorum

James Moeser

Chancellor

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

trolenmayer

Dave B. Frohnmayer

President

University of Oregon

Amy Gutmann President

University of Pennsylvania

Dr. James Sanders

President

National Association of Marine Laboratories

Brian Halla Chairman & CEO

National Semiconductor Corporation

Henry S. Bienen

President

Northwestern University

E. Gordon Gee President

Ohio State University

Elizabeth A. Rogan **Executive Director**

Optical Society of America

Michael S. Lebby President & CEO

Optoelectronics Industry Development

ligation A. Logar

Association

Graham Spanier

President

Pennsylvania State University

Mark a. hadenberg

Mark A. Nordenberg

Chancellor

University of Pittsburgh

Vel Stram

Joel Seligman President

University of Rochester

Steven B. Sample

President

University of Southern California

John T. Casteen III

President

University of Virginia

John D. Wiley

Chancellor

University of Wisconsin-Madison

Nicholas S. Zeppos

Chancellor

Vanderbilt University

Willem Roelandts Chairman of the Board

Xilinx Corporation

Richard C. Levin

(Loolandt)

Richard C. Levin President

Yale University

CC:

The Honorable Steny Hoyer, Majority Leader

The Honorable Jim Clyburn, Majority Whip

The Honorable Roy Blunt, Republican Whip

The Honorable Rahm Emanuel, Chairman, Democratic Caucus

The Honorable Adam Putnam, Chairman, House Republican Conference

The Honorable Thaddeus G. McCotter, Chairman, Republican Conference Committee

The Honorable David Obey, Chairman, House Appropriations Committee

The Honorable Jerry Lewis, Ranking Member, House Appropriations Committee