June 3, 2008

The Honorable Harry Reid Senate Majority Leader 528 Hart Senate Office Bldg Washington, DC 20510 Facsimile: 1-202-224-7327 The Honorable Mitch McConnell Senate Minority Leader 361 A Russell Senate Washington, SC 20510 Facsimile: 1-202-224-2499

Dear Majority Leader Reid and Minority Leader McConnell:

As the House and Senate move toward an agreement on the supplemental spending bill, we strongly urge you to preserve the funding increases for the physical sciences and engineering included in the Senate-passed legislation. The \$200 million appropriated to the National Science Foundation and the \$100 million for the Office of Science in the Department of Energy represent the bare minimum Congress should provide for basic research and math and science education at a time when America's economic competitiveness is increasingly challenged.

The FY 2008 Omnibus Appropriations Act came up woefully short of the funding commitments made by Congress and the Administration in the Democratic Innovation Agenda and the American Competitiveness Initiative. The consequences of this inaction are now apparent: cutting edge research has been halted or not launched; scientists in the hundreds have lost their jobs; fewer teachers are being trained; bright students are choosing alternative paths; and international partnerships have been severed. Basic science and engineering research at universities and national labs drives our nation's ability to develop breakthroughs ranging from energy- and life-saving devices to technologies that contribute to our economic growth, national defense and societal welfare. Now is the time to invest in America's competitive future and prevent further backsliding.

America's business, scientific and academic communities are united in asking for your leadership to preserve this funding in the FY 2008 supplemental and to put America back on track in FY 2009 to secure our crucial innovation investment commitments. We appreciate your continued efforts and look forward to working with you throughout this process.

Sincerely,

Hector Ruiz Chairman & CEO Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.

me E. Bristen

Bruce E. Bursten President American Chemical Society

Christopher Hansen President & CEO American Electronics Association

n Thomas Wason

Dr. John Watson President American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering

I.F. Dyle

H. Frederick Dylla Executive Director and CEO American Institute of Physics

times Thinin

James Glimm President American Mathematical Society

Arthur Bienenstock President American Physical Society

Sanjay Jha President QUALCOMM CDMA Technologies

Bill Destler President Rochester Institute of Technology

Victoria & Hacfuld

Victoria Hadfield President SEMI North America

Serry M. Scalin

George Scalise President Semiconductor Industry Association

Larry W. Sumney President & CEO Semiconductor Research Corporation

we Moler

Cleve Moler President Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics

Jerry P. Draayer President & CEO Southeastern Universities Research Association

eter a Lachenbruch

Peter A. Lachenbruch President American Statistical Association

Michael M. Crow President Arizona State University

hutm Budahl

Robert M. Berdahl President Association of American Universities

Man 2

Dr. Mary L. Good Chairman ASTRA, The Alliance for Science & Technology Research in America

Dr. Jay Gogue President Auburn University

Daniel A. Reed Chairman Computing Research Association

David Skorton President Cornell University

Deborah L. Wince-Smith President **Council on Competitiveness** 

Hun Cidemeon

John Hennessy President Stanford University

Nancy Cantor Chancellor & President Syracuse University

Freque & Westine

Lezlee Westine President & CEO TechNet

Richard K. Templeton Chairman, President & CEO Texas Instruments Incorporated

wayne blackle

Dwayne Ashley CEO & President Thurgood Marshall College Fund

Scott S. Cowen President Tulane University

John B. Simpson President University of Buffalo, The State University of New York

Jarry

Larry N. Vanderhoef Chancellor University of California Davis

Mark S. Thompson Chairman, CEO & President Fairchild Semiconductor

James H. annous

Dr. James H. Ammons President Florida A&M University

T.K. Wetherell President Florida State University

Rich Beyer Chairman & CEO Freescale Semiconductor, Inc.

Im EKelly III

Dr. John E. Kelly III Senior Vice President & Director of Research IBM Corporation

unset

Russell J. Lefevre President IEEE-USA

VQC

Michael McRobbie President Indiana University

RBau

Dr. Craig R. Barrett Chairman of the Board Intel Corporation

Michall

Michael V. Drake Chancellor University of California Irvine

Robert Grey Chancellor University of California Riverside

? Hill

John Hitt President University of Central Florida

hdrag

Nancy Zimpher President University of Cincinnati

(m)

Dr. Eric Gislason Chancellor University of Illinois at Chicago

Richard Herman Chancellor University of Illinois of Urbana-Champaign

Dr. C. Dan Mote President University of Maryland

Gregory L. Geoffroy President Iowa State University

Lester A. Lefton President Kent State University

Abhi Talwalkar President & CEO LSI Logic Corporation

Keith Jackson President, CEO & Director **ON Semiconductor** 

Holfiel

Susan Hockfield President Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Vollent Cynthie A.

Cynthia A. Volkert, Ph.D. President Materials Research Society

mean

Lou Anna K. Simon President Michigan State University

Mary Sue Coleman

Mary Sue Coleman President University of Michigan

Sminks

Robert H. Bruininks President **University of Minnesota** 

mu is Wille

James B. Milliken President **University of Nebraska** 

David Schmidly President University of New Mexico

mun

James Moeser Chancellor University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

fourmayer

Dave B. Frohnmayer President **University of Oregon** 

Amy Gutmann President University of Pennsylvania

Stern K aggeleton

Steve Appleton Chairman & CEO Micron Technology

n

Peter McPherson President NASULGC, A Public University Association

-anders anor -

Dr. James Sanders President National Association of Marine Laboratories

Brian Halla Chairman & CEO National Semiconductor Corporation

Henry S. Bienen President Northwestern University

E. Gordon Gee President Ohio State University

ligation A.

Elizabeth A. Rogan Executive Director **Optical Society of America** 

Mark G. nadenberg

Mark A. Nordenberg Chancellor University of Pittsburgh

Del Stigmon

Joel Seligman President **University of Rochester** 

mple

Steven B. Sample President University of Southern California

John T. Casteen III President **University of Virginia** 

John D. Wiley Chancellor **University of Wisconsin-Madison** 

Nicholas S. Zeppos Chancellor Vanderbilt University

(Loolandts TILOM

Willem Roelandts Chairman of the Board **Xilinx Corporation** 



Richard C. Levin

Richard C. Levin President Yale University

Michael S. Lebby President & CEO Optoelectronics Industry Development Association

Arakam Spannin

Graham Spanier President **Pennsylvania State University** 

CC:

The Honorable Richard Durbin, Majority Whip The Honorable John Kyl, Minority Whip The Honorable Lamar Alexander, Chairman, Senate Republican Conference The Honorable Robert Byrd, Chairman, Senate Appropriations Committee The Honorable Thad Cochran, Ranking Member, Senate Appropriations Committee The Honorable Byron Dorgan, Chair, Democratic Policy Committee The Honorable Kay Bailey Hutchison, Chair, Republican Policy Committee